Camp & Travel

For the least couple of years, I’ve been splitting time between the Bay Area and Illinois as I’ve attempted to pursue my career as my partner is pursing hers. This has meant a haphazard approach to our normal support networks including working out (I miss my garage gym a lot!)

IMG_0015However, I’ve been successful in Illinois with a Concept 2 rower and a couple of kettlebells. Just a couple of pieces of equipment have allowed me to stay on track and hit some pretty decent intervals, while focusing on stability through a range of movement over strength. Truth be told, this is what I should be focusing on with my strength. While I’ve been home, I’ve been able to get 4-5 rows in per week and 2-3 kettlebell sessions. It means that I’m staying on track and staying consistent. What has gone amiss, meditation and journaling. It’s funny how the mornings get untracked dramatically with three kids. Quiet and alone time has been hard to come by, but I’ve been grateful to be annoyed by my family!

The big downer was camp. I know 60 boys campers and hours from early morning to late evening. I’m trying not to beat myself up, but I didn’t get a workout in. By the end of the week, I was moving slower and my joints were sore. I know that I need to workout, even if only bodyweight circuits and stretching, to be able to move well. It’s got to be a habit and it probably needs to start in the morning or finish in the evening. I’m ok with not working out completely, but I need to do a better job of doing just a little more.

Leave a Reply

