Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Today is my daughter’s birthday and she is 3 years old! It changed my life to be a parent and helped put a lot of things in perspective. One of the biggest things that I learned is that sometimes life gets in the way of training and that is OK! I no longer structure my schedule around my workouts, but around my family. If on occasion I miss a day of training c’est la vie. That is life and I need to get on with it. If you can learn this lesson earlier in life than I did, you can become mentally stronger and more adaptable to all the challenges life throws at you.

Following on with the week of active recovery. The lift and conditioning will be part of the same workout. This gives a break, shortens up your time in the gym and gives you the chance to go out and enjoy the offseason,

Workout:
Complete as many rounds as possible in 20 minutes of 12 deadlifts, 9 hang cleans and 6 push press. The weight should be no heavier than 115lbs, for most a bar will be plenty. This is a brutal little workout and takes a lot of focus to maintain your form, which impacts your efficieny of movement.

Stretches:
Calves, hip flexors, hamstrings, quads, lower back, shoulders and neck.

Leave a Reply

