Off-Season Training

So I got a piece advice the other day that was invaluable, “GET OUT OF YOUR OWN HEAD!” The advice related to my training. I have been very successful training with a CrossFit oriented protocol, but everyone can get stale and go back to what you want to do and then forget to extend your boundaries. So this off-season I am going to follow the team program for the Glendale Raptors. I still get to do some met cons on non-lifting days, but these will be mostly monostructural exercises.

The program is aimed at developing strength and mass. It is functional movements but looks more traditional than my workouts have been for a couple of years. This is a step in a different direction, but I am enjoying the challenge over the first two weeks. I’m gonna stick with it because I need to develop the size and strength and I also need the structure. My life is hectic at the moment with a new job as a manager with a major retailer. This program allows me to trust in something else and I can do the exercises in the University of Denver Rec Center.

I am sticking with the major lifts of the program, but I am modifying the circuits to be more dynamic and increase the metabolic conditioning aspect. This allows me to still keep CrossFitting but fit with the team structure. I just modify the workout to take-out things like bicep curls and calf raises and I modify them to have pullups and box jumps. The same but different. I’ll keep you posted on my progress as I am in week 2 of 8.

Leave a Reply

