Fall Season with Glendale Raptors

So this summer, Julie and I moved to Denver. One of the first priorities was getting situated with a rugby club and I just around the corner is one of the best set ups in the United States. The Village of Glendale is a little municipality that is surrounded by Denver and its official sport is RUGBY! Two rugby fields, one all weather turf and the other a natural grass field in a stadium.

As with any new club, I was a bundle of nerves when I joined the team. There is that period where you don’t know anybody and you need to work hard to build relationships, make friends and acclimate to the club atmosphere. There was also the added bonus that the Glendale Raptors won the USA Division 1 National Championship in 2011. The transition was pretty easy with a great coaching staff and a great group of players I fit in quickly.

The fall season started out with some easier games before building at the end with games against two Super League clubs, Chicago Griffins and Denver Barbarians. We finished the season undefeated and I had a great time. It was nice to have training around the corner with a facility that I could lift with my teammates at. I played most of the season at hooker, but spent a little bit of time at loosehead as well.

I can’t wait to the spring season, when the Raptors attempt to defend their Division 1 title.

 

Leave a Reply

