Coach’s birthday dinner

Dinner last night was awesome. We went out with Expo to Barrio Fiesta for his birthday. It is great Filipino food done so it will appeal to westerners. Expo ordered everything off the group menu for the 7 of us and we were loaded down with food. The best was the crispy pata, a pork knuckle cooked the Filipino way. I started with the crispy skin and finished gnawing the bones, so good to be back in Manila! We also had fish, crab, eggplant, beef, mussels and probably some other stuff that I can’t remember.

The birthday feast.

The night then kicked into gear as the old boys at the table started to sing with the 4 piece band that was playing and using a small wok as a microphone. Expo and team manager Matt Cullen lead a number of Bon Jovi, Bryan Adams and Phil Collins tunes. It was a great time and great fun.

After I got home I was feeling stiff and bloated. Caught a movie on tv and decided that I needed to get moving. So I did 10 rounds of 10 lunges each leg, 10 situps and 10 pushups not for time. It was good to get moving and I feel much better. Then I got my 5 hours of sleep between midnight and 6am. I was stoked to be able to fall asleep during the evening, which is not always easy when you are doing the 12 hour time change! However, I work up once the light started coming into my room. Today is going to be pretty low key as more of the boys come in from overseas and checkin to the hotel. I am going to go out with a couple of the American lads and hopefully I will get a workout in as well.

3 thoughts on “Coach’s birthday dinner

  1. Sounds like your having a pretty good trip so far minus the luggage debacle. I hope your feeling strong going to camp and that you play to your potential. I know you can and i have no doubt you will. You have worked harder than anyone i know to get where you are buddy and you deserve it all. Cheers!

  2. MMmmmm! Pork knuckle…NOT! However, everything else looked and sounded wonderful.
    Love reading your blog Josh.

    1. Pork knuckle is delicious. You get the crispy skin and the tasty meat! Ah, I guess you have to try to believe it. It is not from the hoof, it is from the leg.

Leave a Reply

