Adjustable Goals

Many people have heard the term S.M.A.R.T. goals before and use them very effectively. I want to touch on the “A”. In different models the “A” stands for different things, my personal favorite is that it stands for ADJUSTABLE. This would mean my goals are Specific, Measurable, Adjustable, Realistic and Timely. The reason I like adjustable over the more common attainable is because it relates to the fact that outside factors may influence how I fulfill a performance goal (a task that I perform as part of a plan to reach a specific outcome).

Currently, I am struggling with my bruised and battered body from this weekend’s game. It was a physical encounter and the small back strain that I carried into the game has flared more than I expected it to post-match. With only 3 weeks until I leave for the Philippines, I set my goals for heavy lifting and sprinting this week. I needed to adjust these goals immediately. If I trained heavy back squats, deadlifts, cleans and snatches I could increase the severity of the injury and jeopardize my over-arching goal of performing well at the Philippine National Team trials. So I adjusted my performance goals for this week to include more rest, stretching and ROM (range of movement) technique lifts. By adjusting my goals for training this week I will put myself in the best position to achieve my over-arching goal with the National Team.

By adjusting goals to allow for external and internal changes, performance goals can be modified to ensure that they are a stepping stone towards the outcome. Be aware of how you feel and be OK with changing the path to your final destination.

I can't wait to see these boys in Manila in 3 weeks. From left: Kit, Jake, Austin, Phil and me.
2 thoughts on “Adjustable Goals

  1. Plus how is reaching for attainable ever going to get ‘someone’ beyond the ceiling. I like adjustable much better. Many think certain goals are unattainable then someone comes along without that ‘ceiling’ in their mind and blows attainable out of the water!

    1. This is a great point. Roger Bannister breaking the 4 minute mile is great example of this. After he proved that it was possible many other athletes quickly followed.

Leave a Reply

