My Training

Recently, I have been just starting to get back into training with higher volume. I had some lingering injuries from Rugby and CrossFit that I needed to let recover, so I listened to my body and let it heal quite a bit. Now I am starting to ramp up again. I focused extensively on strength over the last 6 months especially in the explosive components of the clean and the jerk, while still focusing on technique in the snatch. In addition, I have spent a lot of time back squatting, deadlifting and thrown in some bench press and a lot of pullups.

For the next 4-6 weeks I plan to work on my strength and strength-endurance and begin to incorporate in a lot of rugby specific skill and conditioning work. Here is a workout that I did a few days ago. I completed a hero WOD (Tyler: 5 rounds of {7 muscleups & 21 95# sumo deadlift high pulls}) with Bruce and Joe in the morning. I was stoked because I knocked it out in just under 21 minutes. Then I went away got lunch and trained with Ben in the afternoon and I went heavy on the clean & jerk because of the low rep scheme, but it hurt! 4 rounds of 185# Clean & Jerk, 8 Burpees, 12 Pushups, 16 Air Squats. I was a very disappointed with my pushups, but I have to remember that I did a lot of tricep lockout in my first work of the day. Anyway here is the video let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “My Training

  1. For having done the workout you did at the start of the day i would be happy with this. Despite your pushups lagging a little your form looked great and pumped it out. 185# is looks like no joke.

Leave a Reply

