5 Year Anniversary

So this weekend was a big one. Training on Friday evening was limited to 20 x 115lb Squat Snatch every 30sec. I thought it was going to be easy, but setting up correctly each time took about 5-8 sec so I felt like I was lifting all the time. I was really happy with how my form progressed. I started to consistently get the bar into the pocket and shrugged myself under the bar. Matt watched my technique and said that my form got better as I went on. I am still trying to master the Snatch, so I am happy that I am making technique progress, I know I can add the weight later.

Friday evening was the UNCG Rugby alumni game. The students won for the first time since the 1980s and the players and coaches were ecstatic. I think once the alumni had forgotten the anger of being beaten they were also happy because UNCG Rugby is continuing to make progress every year. It is exciting after winning the Dogwood League last year to be competing against better, more physical teams.

Then on Saturday it was my 5 Year Anniversary. It is incredible to think that I’ve been married for 5 years to my amazing wife Julie. We had a great day just hanging out at home with Brynn. We watched some football and played with Brynn. This is the best present I could have had. That evening we went out to Print Works Bistro. The dinner was amazing. Julie had scallops and I had duck and we shared a bottle of wine! Since we had the babysitter (thanks Leah!) we also went and saw “The Town”. We had a great night, just hanging out together and enjoying each other’s company.

Sunday was lazy, the rain came in and we were both feeling a bit under the weather (we just don’t drink much anymore!). The evening rolled around and I decided that we needed to do a workout. Inspired by the world’s fittest man, Graham Holmberg, we did 100 burpees for time. I was stoked with my time of 5:21! I was aiming for under 5, but glad that I went all out and I only stopped for a quick breath at 60!

Leave a Reply

