General Physical Preparedness

Sometimes life throws you curveballs. For me it was my last English paper. I couldn’t get it together and get it written and I spent all Tuesday night in the library slogging it out. It was the last paper of the semester and though it wasn’t my best work, I got it done. The curveball for me was that there was an instructor workout at midday and I was not feeling it. Bruce, being Bruce, goaded me into by calling me some unsavory names that I didn’t agree so I thought I would prove him wrong. The workout we attacked was Cindy…OH CRAP!!!

Cindy is 20 minutes of as many rounds as possible with each round consisting of 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups & 15 squats! With no sleep and nothing but some energy drink and adrenalin I was not looking forward to this workout. But I made up my mind that if I wasn’t going to be able to go fast I was going to do everything to keep going. At the end of the 20 minutes I was spent but I had completed 17 rounds, which was 3 off my best. I was absolutely stoked by this. I had pushed to my potential for that day.

Everyday is different and potential is dynamic. Each time you do something, you can push outside your comfort zone at that time. Depending on the task pushing outside your comfort zone is going to be different. Sometimes it is going to be going to work after a crappy nights sleep and exceeding your bosses expectations and on other occasions simply the task at hand, like making a new friend, will push you outside your comfort zone.

The day was only half done. It was a rest day at CrossFit Greensboro which meant team workouts. The four teams each selected an exercise, the four instructors each selected the reps for the exercise, the athletes then through out the General Physical Preparedness challenge. What is this? It is to be able to do anything at any time! Bruce and I groaned, bitched and then when the clock started we went. It was great fun, fortunately we beat all of the other teams and we made it through. Often times it is just getting through a workout that makes it count and today was one!

Leave a Reply

